GIMP’d

So before I joined Twitter I used to be a Pokemon nerd. No, not those nerds that just sit in the corner and occasionally twitch shouting “derp”, a fan of a really addictive game is a better way to put it. I joined Pokemon Diamond Clans forum back in September 2007 and made some great friends. We all had a similar passion – graphics. Userbars, signatures, avatars, logos, we made it alright, and we did it together through the Canvas Clan. Shortly after my departure the Canvas Clan unfortunately closed and a year or so later, I made contact with one of my friends from the forum.

They’d been spending the majority of their time since I left on DeviantART, and after looking at her work, she sure is an amazing artist, doing fan art and signatures. So, trying to get back into the swing of things, I joined DeviantART and decided to give graphics another go. Firing up GIMP, I set on my quest to retain graphical awesomeness… and I crashed and burned. My sigs turned out to be as awful as Raoul Moat’s choice of hiding (next to a river… you won’t get far then mate) and so I tried out some tutorials.

I could easily understand the tutorials but the end result was just horrible. Whether it be that the render never worked well, my smudging, placement of brushing wasn’t effective, I don’t know, but they sure as hell looked nothing like the result the tutorial creator had gotten. So after a bit of experimentation on my own, I finally got this. Not bad for a returner, eh?

The Last Hope

Do NOT use, redistribute without my permission.

To check out my DeviantART page and future works, go here.

Thank you and god speed.

About subjectxen

Tweeter, Xbox 360 Gamer, Gaming News Writer and Reviewer.
This entry was posted in All, Jibber Jabber and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

